Home / CCSNMMI News / Robert T. Anger, Jr., MS, MPH to Receive Central Chapter – SNMMI’s Gold Medal


Chicago, IL – The Central Chapter of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (CCSMMI) will honor Robert T. Anger, Jr., MS, MPH, Senior Vice President of the Medical Physics Consultants with the presentation of the Steven M. Pinsky Distinguished Service Award, the highest honor the CCSNMMI can bestow upon a member. The Distinguished Service Award or Gold Medal will be presented to Mr. Anger at the March 28-29, 2015 CCSMMI Annual Spring Meeting, to recognize his outstanding leadership in organized medicine and community relations and his many years of dedicated service to radiology and nuclear medicine.

Dr. Anger received his Bachelors Degree in Zoology, a Masters Degree in Environmental Health Sciences (Radiological Health) and Masters in Public Health from the University of Michigan. Following graduation in 1967, he began his career in the Radiological Surveillance Branch of the U.S. Public Health Service in Rockville, MD. In 1969 he moved to Cincinnati, Ohio as Health Services Officer for the Public Health Service assigned to the Cincinnati General Hospital where he served as a physicist in the Nuclear Medicine Laboratory and Associate Director of the Nuclear Medicine Technology Program.

In 1971, Dr. Anger moved to Indianapolis to join the staff of the Indiana University Medical Center’s Nuclear Medicine Division where he was Radiation Safety Officer and Associate Director, Nuclear Medicine Technology Program. Then in 1976 he moved to Methodist Hospital in Indianapolis as Medical Nuclear Physicist and Radiation Safety Officer. During this time he held Assistant Professorships in the Radiology Departments of a number of Universities. In 2011 he joined the staff of Medical Physics Consultants, based in Indianapolis, serving as the Radiation Safety Officer for eight hospitals and clinics.

Anger was approved by the Indiana State Department of Public Health as a Qualified Radiation Physicist from 1971 to1994, and as a Health Physicist and Diagnostic Imaging Physicist from 1994 to the present. He was certified in Medical Nuclear Physics by the American Board of Radiology in 1975.

Anger joined the Society of Nuclear Medicine in 1969 and has been active in the Society at the National and Chapter Level ever since. For the SNM, he has been a member of the Special Committee on Computers, the Task Force on Laboratory Management, the Instrumentation and Data Analysis Subcommittee of the Scientific Program Committee, the Board of Trustees, and Secretary, President-Elect and President of the SNM’s Instrumentation Committee.

At the Chapter Level, Anger served on the local arrangements committee for both the Southeastern Chapter meeting held in Cincinnati and for one of the Central Chapter meetings held in Indianapolis. For the Central Chapter he has served on the Publications Committee, the Constitution and Bylaws Committee, Program Committee and Board of Governors. He served as Secretary-Treasurer from 2006-2008 and President of the Central Chapter for 2008-2009. He continued as the Past President on the Board of Governors from 2009 to 2011.

A prolific writer and speaker, Anger has authored or co-authored many publications, presentations, abstracts and displays.

The Angers have one child and three grandchildren and live in Indianapolis.

# # #